PNR · Romance

The Golden Pack Alphas by Laurel Cremant (Anna’s Review )

6db4a-the2bgolden2bpack2balphas_rvsdcover

The Golden Pack Alphas by Laurel Cremant

My rating: 4 of 5 stars

A free copy of this book was provided in exchange for an honest review – thank you Laurel Cremant and Be My Book Boyfriend.

This book is a very enjoyable read and a fresh perspective on your typical shifter story – a few new ideas mixed in with the old always makes a new series more interesting.
Marcus sounded intelligent and luscious, with just the right amount of arrogance, just the way I like my bad boys however, I did find his ‘sophistication’ to be a little jarring with the image portrayed of him. He’s a feared rogue enforcer, muscle bound and tattooed with his marks to remind him of his humanity and he wears slacks on the beach. Who does that? While it’s stereotypical, I would have preferred him in tight jeans and leather, not suits and business shirts, but maybe that’s just me.
Georgia is great. Beautiful, sassy and intelligent and certainly the right woman for Marcus – they fit well and aside from her taking way too long to fall in with the grand plan, I enjoyed their witty and often humourous interactions.
The writing style is easy to read and draws you in to the world being built around you quite nicely, I only had a few nitpicks, one being Marcus and Georgia’s ability to complete a full cooked breakfast during what amounted to a twenty second conversation, another being the repeated use of the word weary where wary was correct. Although the image of Georgia’s packmates being constantly tired around her was an amusing one, I don’t think it was the image the author intended to provide.
This book has the feel of the start of a series to me and there are certainly plenty of intriguing characters who the author could carry on with, I for one would certainly be on board with reading more when they’re written.

View all my reviews

Leave a Reply

